Anne-Orange POILPRE

Le portail roman et ses images sculptées : pierre angulaire de l’histoire de l’art médiéval européen

‘Romanesque portal’: the term itself stands as an evocative phrase that encompasses all the major artistic transformations of the eleventh and twelfth centuries. It evokes the flourishing of monumental sculpture at the threshold of the church and the threshold whose architecture also grew to unprecedented importance and which came to serve as decoration outside of the cultic space inside. At the heart of scholarly discussion on Romanesque art since the end of the nineteenth century, the question of the portal – in all its facets – has been a touchstone for theories regarding the place of sculpture in architectural spaces, the role of artistic innovation, and the renewal of iconographic language. These are, in the end, questions about the very definition and bounds of Romanesque art, questions that have dominated the field’s historiography. This article considers the iconographic and symbolic interpretation of portals in order to understand how the Romanesque portal has become the object of particular scholarly attention. The matter of monumental sculpture of course is a centerpiece in this discussion. Studies by Emile Mâle privileged the iconographic content of portal sculpture, while Marcel Durliat privileged the idea of the Romanesque portal as an architectural ensemble, semantically coherent. That particular understanding has evolved in more recent research toward a consideration of ideological aspects, at the expense of aspects of ecclesiastical geography conceived around the pilgrimage routes.


Éliane VERGNOLLE

Le portail roman Un nouveau cadre architectural pour la sculpture

Scholars have paid scant attention to the structural history of the Romanesque portal. Yet it is crucial to an understanding of the history of the sculpture. In fact, it was the formulation of new approaches to the architectural frame of the portal which prefigured and to a large extent conditioned the rise and the first developments of portal sculpture. Thus, in the first part of the lecture, the early period of Romanesque will be discussed and parallels drawn between the changes to the portal structure and those effecting other architectural elements, such as supports. In the second part of the lecture, the relationship between architecture and sculpture as seen in the great portals of the twelfth century will be presented by taking the jamb figure as a point of departure: iconographic and formal transformations reveal a constant process of change.


Marcello ANGHEBEN

La théophanie du portail de Moissac. Une vision de l’Église céleste célébrant la liturgie eucharistique

The tympanum at Moissac presents a theophanic scene: Christ flanked by the Four Living Creatures of the Apocalypse, two six-winged angels, and the Twenty-Four Elders of the Apocalypse. Several clues, however, suggest that this theophany recalls the presence of Christ and his angels in the Church at the time of celebration of the Eucharist. One could say that the figure of Christ plays the role of high priest while the Living Creatures and angels – two seraphins or one seraphin accompanied by a cherub – sing the liturgical ‘sanctus’ with the members of the terrestrial Church who are assembled within Moissac’s sanctuary. The Elders accompany them perhaps; or at the very least, they stretch their chalices toward Christ, just as in other examples in which the Eucharistic dimension of these objects is confirmed by the iconographic context, as at Sant Tomas de Fluvià, San Silvestro at Tivoli and Autun. Moissac’s theophanic scene reigns over a tau-cross formed by the lintel and the trumeau, whose surfaces are drawn together by their identical decoration. The combination of these two themes offers an allusion to the decoration of sanctuary spaces; in addition, it especially alludes to the illustration of the ‘Te igitur’, the first oraison of the Canon of the Mass that often in manuscripts features a tau-cross with interlaced animals, much as we see on Moissac’s trumeau. The very close visual analogies between the portal and ‘Te igitur’ manuscript illumination constitute a decisive argument in favor of a liturgical interpretation of the theophany sculpture. The sculptural program on the lateral walls of the porch likewise refers to the eucharist by virtue of the scene of the Presentation in the Temple; the program also develops a moralizing discourse centered on the practice of virtue and the post-mortem destiny of the Just and Sinners. It may be that through these images, the monks of Moissac encouraged the faithful to increase their donations to the
poor, the dead, and to the abbey itself.


Maritchu ETCHEVERRY

Le portail occidental de la cathédrale de Pampelune Et Maître Esteban : Relecture d’un mythe historiographique

Since 1934, west portal of Pamplona Cathedral’s capitals have been attributed to Esteban, whose name appears in documents from the cathedral’s archives. Thereafter, historiography has assigned to this master a vast corpus of works, as well as a sphere of activity in northern Spain. However, the texts and a new analysis of the works reveal another reality that calls into question this historiographic invention. The Pamplona portal therefore offers a promising case study through which to explore our understanding of historiography, its limits and its dangers, but also, and above all, the necessity of returning to a critical and methodical study of the works, which only permit a pertinent rereading of historiography, chronology, and the identity and role of artists in the artistic creation of the times.


Lei HUANG

Le chantier de Sainte-Foy de Conques : éléments de réflexion

Recent studies on the architecture of Sainte-Foy at Conques show that the building archaeology enables us to renew largely our opinion on the construction process of the abbey church. In order to put forward a more detailed construction process, we have undertaken a more in-depth archaeological study, though leaving out of consideration stylistic analysis of sculpture. The distribution of construction materials, stone cutting techniques, putlog holes and masons’ marks is the main archaeological data to be studied, in addition to the masonry. This reconsidered construction process offer a more rigorous chronologic reference to sculpture study, and some new research ideas may also be suggested.


 Immaculada LORES

Des arcs romains aux portails romans, un regard critique. Le portail de Ripoll, une fois de plus

The association of the Romanesque portal with Roman arches has always had a place among Romanesque sculpture historiography. In this paper we aim, in first place, to raise some critical considerations apropos of this topic, dealing with the excessive focus on the honorific and triumphal arch as possible “models” for the romanesque portals, considering that the portals of the Roman City walls ought to be taken into account. Secondly, we put forward a new proposal regarding the possible “Roman model” of the Santa Maria de Ripoll portal. In our opinion, we are dealing with the Christian triumphal arch of Santa Maria Maggiore, not with a pagan triumphal arch. The painted character of the portal of Ripoll, the distribution of the scenes by superimposed registers, the important development of the Exodus cycle and the Christian Late Antiquity monumental models already in use before Ripoll are some of the evidences of this hypothesis.


Robert A. MAXWELL

Portail roman en Aquitaine et ses implications funéraires

While it is well known that portals fulfilled a role in funerary practices and even as the site of burials, details regarding the use of Romanesque portals in these ritual uses are difficult to ascertain. This paper nonetheless tries to offer a general picture of the role portals played in these rites, taking Aquitaine as a case study. Of perhaps still greater interest than the rites themselves are the broader implications of portals in the funerary context. This study offers some considerations for how portal architecture and iconography recalled more ancient funerary traditions, including Early Christian and Carolingian, and recalled even the antique traditions of the Roman adventus. A second objective, therefore, is to consider how the symbolic value of the portal drew upon broader associations and thus consequently expanded the visual range of what could be considered the portal’s ‘funerary’ role.


Quitterie CAZES

Le décor des façades des salles capitulaires à l’époque romane

Chapterhouses in monasteries, cathedrals, and collegiate churches, are the site of daily meetings of the monks or canons. The first chapterhouses appear in the ninth century, and they become widespread in the eleventh and twelfth centuries. Ranking second only to the church itself in terms of importance within an ecclesiastical complex, chapterhouses open onto the cloister by a door flanked by two or more bays. This facade often consists of rather limited decoration, although occasionally with historiated capitals. Sometimes, but rarely, the decoration is more complex. The exceptional examples of Saint-Georges de Boscherville and Saint-Aubin d’Angers are briefly mentioned here, while longer discussion is reserved for two important ensembles in Toulouse, now lost, namely those of the cathedral Saint-Etienne and the Benedictine monastery La Daurade.


Stéphane BÜTTNER

La mise en oeuvre de la façade et du grand portail de la nef de Vézelay : nouvelles données archéologiques

As much for the quality of its sculpture as for the originality of its architecture, the celebrated portal of Vézelay has raised many questions from art historians. Set at the juncture between the nave, rebuilt as of 1120, and the narthex, a project that was modified and eventually completed between 1145 and 1151, the portal has given rise to a wide variety of hypotheses. A preliminary condition study in advance of a large-scale restoration project of the central and lateral portals was therefore the opportunity to proceed with a fine-grained investigation of the facade as a whole. Scaffolding erected for the occasion offered the opportunity to apply an ‘archéologie du bâti’ approach to the study of the ensemble of works and thereby renew our understanding of the facade’s construction.
Apart from the different archaeological clues that point to the construction sequence of the portals, close observation of the elevations offered an opportunity to consider modifications to the original architectural plan, to discover new elements, and to advance newhypotheses regarding the placement of the portals within the overall construction project.


Heike HANSEN
Andreas HARTMANN-VIRNICH

La façade de l’abbatiale de Saint-Gilles-du-Gard : nouvelles recherches sur la construction d’un chef d’oeuvre de l’art roman

New research investigating the masterpieces of mediaeval architecture, this study of the construction of the abbey of Saint-Gilles-du-Gard demonstrates the importance of detailed stone-by-stone analysis and graphic documentation. This archaeological investigation began as a component of the co-author’s doctoral thesis and has been ongoing since 2009 within the framework of two interdisciplinary projects. It has highlighted the impact of static problems which occurred during the building process, the erection and final shaping of the western façade, one of the most celebrated and indeed controversial late Romanesque monuments of southern France. Building archaeology has demonstrated that the abbey church was begun at the end of the twelfth century, and that a significant portion of the Romanesque claustrum had to be destroyed or modified to enable its construction. The sculpture of the façade, previously attributed to an earlier church and considered to be a precursor of the style inspired by influences from classical antiquity, is in fact fully consistent with the major stylistic achievements of the period.


Anna THIRION

La plaque de l’abbé Grégoire et l’ancienne « tribune » de Cuxa Évaluer l’incertitude dans la maquette patrimoniale

The Romanesque “tribune” of the abbey church of Cuxa was probably dismantled in the sixteenth century. No description or representation of this work of art, at the time of its existence, is to be found. It is known today thanks to more than one hundred and seventy pink marble sculptures scattered across France and the United States. The making of its virtual three-dimensional reconstruction has given us the opportunity to demonstrate that the slab representing Abbot Gregory belonged to this structure, raising questions about its commission and dating. This 3D reconstruction raises methodological issues about the qualification and evaluation of uncertainty in patrimonial models, which are discussed in this paper.


Anne LETURQUE

L’église Sainte-Marie-de-Riquer à Catllar et ses décors peints extérieurs

The church of Sainte-Marie-de-Riquer is situated a few kilometers away from Saint-Michel de-Cuxà. In 1956 after two years of a painted discharging arch, Pierre Ponsich publishes a monograph of the church. The architectural analysis he proposed, discribes a building from the eleventh century with a nave and semicircular apse bent in half-dome. A granite lintel and a dischanging arch probably decorated during the third quarter of the XIIth century with a Madonna and Child, surmount the south door of the building. The latter is built in pebbles of Têt. False joints carefully drawn at the tip of the trowel and painted in the red ocher decorate the outer walls. Other churches also give us to see painted tympanums and colored joints. However, we can see in Notre-Dame-de-Riquer a perfect illustration
of what could be the outside painted decoration of modest romanic edifices built in not coated quary stones or pebbles.

Leave Comment

Votre adresse e mail ne sera pas affichée. Champs obligatoires *

clear formSubmit

sommaire

Anne-Orange POILPRE

Le portail roman et ses images sculptées : pierre angulaire de l’histoire de l’art médiéval européen

« Le portail roman » : l’expression à elle seule s’impose comme l’évocation d’un condensé des mutations artistiques majeures des XIe et XIIe siècles. Un essor de la sculpture monumentale au seuil de l’église qui tend alors lui aussi à gagner une ampleur architecturale inédite et à installer durablement une ornementation figurée à l’extérieur de l’espace cultuel.
Au coeur du discours savant sur l’art roman depuis la fin du XIXe, la question du portail sous tous ses aspects sert de focale aux théories permettant de penser l’adéquation de la sculpture à l’espace architectural, la nouveauté artistique et le renouvellement du discours iconographique. Car ce sont là finalement la définition et les contours mêmes de l’art roman que l’historiographie interroge sans cesse. On abordera ici l’interprétation de cet aspect iconographique et symbolique des oeuvres pour comprendre de quelle manière le portail roman devient l’objet d’une attention spécifique dans la recherche. C’est d’abord la question de la sculpture monumentale qui retient l’attention. Les travaux d’émile Mâle insisteront sur la question du contenu iconographique. Puis Marcel Durliat impose l’idée du portail roman comme formant un tout architectural et sémantique cohérent, compréhension qui évolue, dans les recherches les plus récentes, vers la prise en compte de la dimension idéologique, au détriment d’une géographie ecclésiastique pensée autour des routes de pèlerinage.


Éliane VERGNOLLE

Le portail roman Un nouveau cadre architectural pour la sculpture

L’histoire structurelle du portail roman a peu retenu l’attention des chercheurs. Elle est pourtant essentielle pour comprendre celle de la sculpture. En effet, les changements de conception du cadre architectural ont précédé et, dans une large mesure, conditionné l’émergence et les premiers développements de celle-ci. La première partie de la communication portera donc sur les débuts de l’art roman, en établissant des parallèles entre les transformations des portails et celles qui affectèrent à cette époque d’autres éléments architecturaux, tels que les supports. La seconde partie sera consacrée à l’interaction entre architecture et sculpture dans les grands portails du XIIe siècle, à partir de l’exemple des figures d’ébrasement, révélateur d’un constant processus de transformations iconographiques et formelles.


Marcello ANGHEBEN

La théophanie du portail de Moissac. Une vision de l’Église céleste célébrant la liturgie eucharistique

Le tympan de Moissac accueille une représentation théophanique du Christ entouré des quatre Vivants de l’Apocalypse, de deux anges hexaptéryges et des vingt-quatre Vieillards. Plusieurs indices suggèrent que cette vision évoque la présence du Christ et de ses anges dans l’église au moment de la célébration eucharistique. Dans cette perspective, le Christ joue le rôle du grand-prêtre tandis que les Vivants et les anges hexaptéryges – deux séraphins ou un séraphin accompagné d’un chérubin – chantent le sanctus liturgique à l’unisson avec les membres de l’Église terrestre rassemblés à l’intérieur du lieu de culte. Les Vieillards les accompagnent peut-être et tendent en tout cas des calices vers le Christ, comme dans plusieurs compositions où la dimension eucharistique de ces objets est attestée par le contexte iconographique : Sant Tomàs de Fluvià, Saint-Sylvestre de Tivoli et Autun. Cette théophanie domine un tau dessiné par le linteau et le trumeau dont les surfaces ont été unifiées par un décor de rosaces quasi identiques. La combinaison de ces deux thèmes renvoie au décor des sanctuaires et surtout à l’illustration du Te igitur, la première oraison du canon de la messe, qui comporte souvent un tau accompagné d’animaux entrecroisés, comme sur le trumeau de Moissac. Les analogies extrêmement précises entre le portail et le livre de l’officiant constituent donc un argument décisif en faveur de l’interprétation liturgique de la théophanie. Le programme déployé sur les deux parois latérales du porche renvoie également à l’eucharistie à travers la scène de la Présentation au Temple et développe un discours moralisateur axé sur la pratique des vertus et la destinée posthume des justes et des pécheurs. Il se pourrait également qu’à travers ces images, les moines de Moissac aient encouragé les fidèles à multiplier les dons en faveur des pauvres, des défunts et de l’abbaye.


Maritchu ETCHEVERRY

Le portail occidental de la cathédrale de Pampelune Et Maître Esteban : Relecture d’un mythe historiographique

Les chapiteaux du portail occidental de la cathédrale de Pampelune ont été attribués depuis 1934 à Esteban, mentionné dans les archives de la cathédrale. Par la suite, l’historiographie a prêté à ce maître un vaste corpus et une itinérance en Espagne du nord. Lestextes et une nouvelle analyse stylistique des œuvres montrent pourtant une autre réalité qui remet en cause cette invention historiographique. Le portail occidental de Pampelune semble donc un exemple propice pour s’interroger sur la manière d’appréhender l’historiographie, sur les limites et les dangers de celle-ci mais aussi et surtout sur la nécessité d’un retour à une étude critique et méthodique des œuvres qui seule permet une relecture pertinente de l’historiographie, de la chronologie, de l’identité et du rôle des artistes dans la création artistique de l’époque.


Lei HUANG

Le chantier de Sainte-Foy de Conques : éléments de réflexion

Les études récentes consacrées à l’architecture de l’abbatiale Sainte-Foy de Conques montrent que l’approche archéologique du bâti permet de largement renouveler notre vision de la marche du chantier. Ainsi une étude archéologique plus approfondie est-elle réalisée afin de proposer, indépendamment de l’analyse stylistique de la sculpture, une marche du chantier plus raffinée. La répartition des matériaux, des techniques de taille, des trous de boulin et des marques lapidaires constitue les principales données archéologiques à exploiter, en plus de la mise en oeuvre des pierres. Cette marche des travaux offre un repère chronologique plus rigoureux à l’étude de la sculpture, et quelques pistes de réflexion peuvent déjà être avancées.


 Immaculada LORES

Des arcs romains aux portails romans, un regard critique. Le portail de Ripoll, une fois de plus

L’association du portail roman aux arcs romains a été un lieu commun de l’historiographie sur la sculpture romane. Dans le présent travail, nous nous proposons, en premier lieu, d’envisager quelques réflexions critiques à propos de ce sujet. Face à une excessive focalisation du regard sur l’arc honorifique et l’arc de triomphe comme possible « modèle » pour les portails romans, nous croyons qu’il faut beaucoup plus prendre en considération les portes des murailles des villes romaines. En deuxième lieu, nous introduisons une proposition nouvelle en ce qui concerne le possible « modèle romain » du portail de Santa Maria de Ripoll. À notre avis, il ne s’agit pas tant d’un arc de triomphe païen, mais plutôt de l’arc triomphal chrétien de Sainte-Marie-Majeure. Le caractère « pictural » du portail de Ripoll, la disposition de scènes se déroulant en bandes superposées, l’important développement du cycle de l’Exode et les modèles monumentaux de l’Antiquité tardive chrétienne déjà utilisés précédemment à Ripoll sont quelques-uns des arguments de cette hypothèse.


Robert A. MAXWELL

Portail roman en Aquitaine et ses implications funéraires

Même s’il est bien connu que les portails remplissaient un rôle dans les pratiques funéraires et pouvaient même servir de lieu de sépulture, les détails concernant l’utilisation de portails romans sont difficiles à déterminer. Cette étude vise à offrir une vue d’ensemble du rôle que les portails ont joué dans ces rites, en prenant pour exemple l’Aquitaine médiévale. Néanmoins, les implications des portails dans le contexte funéraire présentent plus d’intérêt et sont plus larges que les rites eux-mêmes, rappelant par exemple des traditions funéraires plus anciennes – paléochrétienne et carolingienne – et l’adventus romain. Un deuxième objectif donc de cette étude est d’exposer la façon dont la symbolique du portail a encouragé les associations funéraires très larges, tout en élargissant la portée visuelle de ce qui pourrait être considéré comme le rôle « funéraire » du portail.


Quitterie CAZES

Le décor des façades des salles capitulaires à l’époque romane

Les salles capitulaires sont, dans les monastères, les cathédrales, les collégiales, les lieux de réunion quotidienne des moines et chanoines. Les premières apparaissent dans le courant du IXe siècle, et elles se généralisent aux XIe-XIIe siècles. Secondes en dignité après l’église dans l’ensemble monumental, ces salles ouvrent sur le cloître par une porte encadrée de deux ou plusieurs baies latérales. Leur façade comprend souvent un décor de faible envergure, avec des chapiteaux parfois historiés. Parfois, mais rarement, ce décor est plus complexe. Les cas des grands ensembles de Saint-Georges de Boscherville et Saint-Aubin d’Angers seront ici évoqués, et on traitera un peu plus des deux grands ensembles toulousains malheureusement disparus, celui de la cathédrale Saint-étienne de Toulouse et celui
du monastère bénédictin de la Daurade.


Stéphane BÜTTNER

La mise en oeuvre de la façade et du grand portail de la nef de Vézelay : nouvelles données archéologiques

Tant par la qualité de sa statuaire que par l’originalité de son architecture, le célèbre portail de la nef de la basilique de Vézelay a toujours suscité nombre d’interrogations de la part des historiens de l’art. Situé architecturalement à la jonction entre la nef, reconstruite à partir de 1120, et l’avant-nef, projet modifié et achevé entre 1145 et 1151, les hypothèses les plus variées ont été avancées au sujet de cette oeuvre. Aussi, dans le cadre d’une étude préalable à un projet de restauration, une étude fine de la façade, du grand portail central et des deux portails latéraux qui y sont inscrits a pu être récemment engagée. La présence d’échafaudages offrait en effet l’opportunité d’appliquer les principes de l’archéologie du bâti sur l’ensemble de la structure et de renouveler par là même la compréhension de sa construction. En dehors des différents indices archéologiques permettant d’évoquer le montage de ces portails, l’observation attentive des élévations a permis d’aborder la problématique liée aux modifications du projet architectural, d’en révéler de nouveaux témoignages et d’avancer de nouvelles hypothèses quant au positionnement des portails dans ces différents projets.


Heike HANSEN
Andreas HARTMANN-VIRNICH

La façade de l’abbatiale de Saint-Gilles-du-Gard : nouvelles recherches sur la construction d’un chef d’oeuvre de l’art roman

Nos études sur la construction de l’ancienne abbaye de Saint-Gilles-du-Gard démontrent l’intérêt du relevé et de l’analyse pierre-à-pierre pour le renouvellement de la recherche sur les chefs d’oeuvre de l’architecture médiévale. Conduits dans le cadre d’une thèse de doctorat et poursuivis depuis 2009 au titre de deux projets de recherche interdisciplinaires, nos travaux ont mis en relief l’incidence de problèmes statiques rencontrés lors de la mise en ¦uvre de l’église romane sur la construction et l’ordonnance d’un des monuments les plus célèbres de l’art roman méridional, dont la genèse avait donné lieu à un grand nombre d’interprétations controverses. Les recherches archéologiques ont démontré que l’église fut élevée, à partir de la fin du XIIe siècle, au détriment d’un ensemble claustral préexistant en modifiant la topographie monumentale et naturelle antérieure. Replacée dans le contexte stylistique de la fin du XIIe siècle, la sculpture de la façade s’inscrit pleinement dans l’essor de la sculpture monumentale de son temps, au lieu du rôle de précurseur précoce qui lui avait souvent été attribué.


Anna THIRION

La plaque de l’abbé Grégoire et l’ancienne « tribune » de Cuxa Évaluer l’incertitude dans la maquette patrimoniale

L’ancienne « tribune » romane de l’église abbatiale de Cuxa a vraisemblablement été démontée au XVIe siècle. Elle n’est documentée par aucune description ou représentation contemporaine à son existence. Elle est aujourd’hui connue par plus de cent soixante-dix sculptures en marbre rose, disséminées en France et aux États-Unis. La réalisation d’une proposition de reconstitution en 3D a été l’occasion de prouver l’appartenance de la plaque représentant l’abbé Grégoire à cette structure. Cette attribution ouvre des pistes de réflexion sur la commande et la datation de la tribune. Les questions méthodologiques soulevées par cette proposition, en particulier celles de la qualification et de l’évaluation de l’incertitude dans une maquette numérique patrimoniale, sont abordées dans le détail.


Anne LETURQUE

L’église Sainte-Marie-de-Riquer à Catllar et ses décors peints extérieurs

L’église Sainte-Marie-de-Riquer est située à quelques kilomètres de Saint-Michel-de-Cuxa. En 1956, suite à la découverte deux ans plus tôt d’un arc de décharge peint, Pierre Ponsich publie une monographie de l’église. L’analyse architecturale qu’il propose fait état d’un édifice du Xie siècle à nef unique et abside semi-circulaire voûtée en cul-de-four. Un linteau de granit et un arc de décharge, problablement orné durant le troisième quart du XIIe siècle d’une Vierge à l’Enfant, surmonte la porte sud de l’édifice. Ce dernier est construit en galets de la Têt. De faux joints soigneusement tracés à la pointe de la truelle et peints à l’ocre rouge décorent les murs extérieurs. D’autres églises donnent également à voir des tympans peints et des joints colorés. Cependant, nous avons à Notre-Dame-de-Riquer une parfaite illustration de ce que pouvait être le décor peint extérieur d’édifices romans modestes construits en moellons ou galets et non enduits.


Martine JULLIAN

Portail Roman et Drame sacré

La matière et le déroulement de plusieurs drames liturgiques ont été reconnus sur certaines façades d’églises romanes et leurs portails comme à Aulnay (Sponsus), Poitiers (Drame des Prophètes), Modène (Jeu d’Adam). Ces intrusions théâtrales prennent différentes formes selon les monuments, mais la frise, avec les contraintes qu’elle impose, semble être le cadre le mieux adapté à la transposition dans la pierre d’un récit qui se déroule à la fois dans le temps et dans l’espace. Dans d’autres cas, ce sont de simples citations qui sont insérées dans un décor plus vaste et plus global : une scène issue du drame de Noël (l’Adoration des mages) ou de Pâques (les Saintes Femmes au tombeau), ou encore des inscriptions sur des phylactères tenus par des Prophètes. Quelle est la raison d’être, quelle est la fonction de ces décors, développés non dans l’intime du choeur de l’église, mais sur sa partie la plus visible, la plus fréquentée, la plus accessible par tous : le portail, la façade ? Émile Mâle avait compris « le drame liturgique comme source et enrichissement de l’iconographie traditionnelle », soulignant l’importance de la matière littéraire à l’origine de la sculpture, comme si l’art plastique avait besoin de se nourrir des mots pour pouvoir exister. Mais mettre en sculpture, en image, ou mettre en texte l’histoire sacrée ne relèvent-ils pas d’une attitude semblable qui consiste à mettre en représentation, au moyen de deux modes d’expression différents, la même matière ? Ce besoin de dramatiser, de mettre en scène, de théâtraliser le récit sacré se retrouve aussi dans des oeuvres dont la source littéraire n’est pas nécessairement le drame liturgique (Autun). C’est alors la sculpture elle-même qui devient drame, pétrifié, dicté par une trame narrative structurée suivant les apparitions des différents acteurs sculptés. On peut alors s’interroger sur le rôle qu’ont pu avoir de tels portails, de telles façades, dans le déroulement de la liturgie : sorte de rideau de scène plus ou moins grandiose, servant de cadre au jeu dramatique, bien vivant celui-là, qui se déroulait devant lui, ou bien acteur à part entière participant directement au rite lui-même, comme partie prenante d’une liturgie de pierre et de chair (Fidenza) ?

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e mail ne sera pas affichée. Champs obligatoires *

EffacerSoumettre